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Regulation of the Athol Board of Health 
Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products

and Nicotine Delivery Products

A. Statement of Purpose:      

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases, 
negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat1; 

Whereas among the 15.7% of students nationwide who currently smoke cigarettes and were less than 18 years 
old, 14.1% usually obtained them by buying them in a store (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount 
store) or gas station2;

Whereas nationally in 2009, 72% of high school smokers and 66% of middle school smokers were not asked to 
show proof of age when purchasing cigarettes3;

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as 
cocaine or heroin4;

Whereas despite state laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors, access by minors to tobacco 
products is a major public health problem;

Whereas many non-cigarette tobacco products, such as cigars and cigarillos, can be sold in a single “dose;” 
enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to cigarettes; are available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are 
popular among youth5;

1 Center for Disease Control and Prevention, (CDC) (2012), Health Effects of Cigarette Smoking Fact Sheet.  Retrieved 
from: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistice/fact_sheets/health_effects/effects_cig_smoking/index.htm.
2 CDC (2009), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)  2010: 59, 
11 (No. SS-55))  Retrieved from: http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/yrbs/index.htm.
3 CDC Office of Smoking and Health, National Youth Tobacco Survey, 2009.  Analysis by the American Lung Association 
(ALA), Research and Program Services Division using SPSS software, as reported in “Trends in Tobacco Use”, ALA 
Research and Program Services, Epidemiology and Statistics Unit, July 2011.  Retrieved from: www.lung.org/finding-
cures/our-research/trend-reports/Tobacco-Trend-Report.pdf.
4 CDC (2010), How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease:  The Biology and Behavioral Basis for Smoking-Attributable 
Disease.  Retrieved from: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2010/.
5 CDC (2009), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2010: 59, 12, note 5).  Retrieved from: 
http:www.cdc.gov/mmwr/pdf/ss/ss5905.pdf.
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Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school 
students in Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days went from 11.8% in 2003 to 
14.9% in 20096;

Whereas survey results show that more youth report that they have smoked a cigar product when it is mentioned 
by name, than report that they smoked a cigar in general, indicating that cigar use among youth is 
underreported7;

Whereas in Massachusetts, youth use of all other tobacco products, including cigars, rose from 13.3% in 2003 
to 17.6% in 2009, and was higher than the rate of current cigarette use (16%) for the first time in history8;

Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the probability of male adolescent 
cigar use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would reduce use by 3.4%9;

Whereas nicotine levels in cigars are generally much higher than nicotine levels in cigarettes10;

Whereas Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) machines located in retail stores enable retailers to sell 
cigarettes without paying the excise taxes that are imposed on conventionally manufactured cigarettes.  High 
excise taxes encourage adult smokers to quit11 and high prices deter youth from starting.12   Inexpensive 
cigarettes, like those produced from RYO machines, promote the use of tobacco, resulting in a negative impact 
on public health and increased health care costs, and severely undercut the evidence-based public health benefit 
of imposing high excise taxes on tobacco;

Whereas it is estimated that 90% of what is being sold as pipe tobacco is actually being used in Non-Residential 
RYO machines.  Pipe tobacco shipments went from 11.5 million pounds in 2009 to 22.4 million pounds in 
2010.  Traditional RYO tobacco shipments dropped from 11.2 million pounds to 5.8 million pounds; and 
cigarette shipments dropped from 308.6 billion sticks to 292.7 billion sticks according to the December 2010 
statistical report released by the U.S. Department of the Treasury, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau 
(TTB)13;

6 CDC (2009) Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2010: 59, 72 (No SS-55)).  Retrieved from: 
www.cdc.gov; and CDC (2003), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2004: 53, 54 (No. SS-02)).
7 2010 Boston Youth Risk Behavior Study.  16.5% of Boston youth responded that they had ever smoked a fruit or candy 
flavored cigar, cigarillo or little cigar, while 24.1% reported ever smoking a “Black and Mild” Cigar.
8 Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Data Brief, Trends in Youth Tobacco Use in Massachusetts, 1993-2009.  Retrieved 
from: http://www.mass.gov/Eeohhs2/docs/dph/tobacco_control/adolescent_tobacco_use_youth_trends_1993_2009.pdf.
9 Ringel, J., Wasserman, J., & Andreyeva, T. (2005)  Effects of Public Policy on Adolescents’ Cigar Use:  Evidence from 
the National Youth Tobacco Survey.  American Journal of Public Health, 95(6), 995-998, doi:  10.2105/AJPH.2003.030411 
and cited in Cigar, Cigarillo and Little Cigar Use among Canadian Youth:  Are We Underestimating the Magnitude of this 
Problem?, J. Prim. P. 2011, Aug: 32(3-4):161-70.  Retrieved from: www.nebi.nim.gov/pubmed/21809109.
10 National Institute of Health (NIH), National Cancer Institute (NCI) (2010).  Cigar Smoking and Cancer.  Retrieved from: 
http://www.cancer.govb/cancertopics/factsheet/Tobacco/cigars.
11 Eriksen, M., Mackay, J., Ross, H. (2012).  The Tobacco Atlas, Fourth Edition, American Cancer Society, Chapter 29, p. 
80.  Retrieved from: www.TobaccoAtlas.org.
12 Chaloupka, F. J. & Liccardo Pacula, R., NIH, NCI (2001).  The Impact of Price on Youth Tobacco Use, Smoking and 
Tobacco Control Monograph 14:  Changing Adolescent Smoking Prevalence) 193 – 200. Retrieved from: 
http://dccps.nih.gov/TCRB/monographs/.
13 TTB (2011).  Statistical Report – Tobacco (2011) (TTB S 5210-12-2010).  Retrieved from:  
http://www.ttb.gov/statistics/2010/201012tobacco.pdf.
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Whereas the sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products are incompatible with the mission of health 
care institutions because these products are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care 
institutions undermine efforts to educate patients on the safe and effective use of medication, including 
cessation medication;

Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who is particularly at risk for 
becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products are incompatible with the 
mission of educational institutions that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health 
risks and harms;

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Athol Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products and 
nicotine delivery products.

B. Authority:

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Athol Board of Health by Massachusetts 
General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that "Boards of Health may make reasonable health regulations".

C. Definitions:  

For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings:

Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in 
part from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers.

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the 
manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment.

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or 
without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 
64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1.

E-Cigarette: Any electronic nicotine delivery product composed of a mouthpiece, heating element, battery 
and/or electronic circuits that provides a vapor of liquid nicotine to the user, or relies on vaporization of solid 
nicotine or any liquid. This term shall include such devices whether they are manufactured as e-cigarettes, e-
cigars, e-pipes or under any other product name.

Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical 
institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education.

Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer.

Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals 
that uses the services of one (1) or more employees.

Health Care Institution: An individual, partnership, association, corporation or trust or any person or group of 
persons that provides health care services and employs health care providers licensed, or subject to licensing, by 
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the Massachusetts Department of Public Health under M.G.L. c. 112 or a retail establishment that provides 
pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to the provisions of 247 CMR 6.00. Health care institutions 
include, but are not limited to, hospitals, clinics, health centers, pharmacies, drug stores, doctor offices and 
dentist offices.

Minor: Any individual who is under the age of eighteen (18).

Nicotine Delivery Product: Any manufactured article or product made wholly or in part of a tobacco substitute 
or containing nicotine that is expected or intended for human consumption, but not including a product 
approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco use cessation or harm 
reduction product or for other medical purposes and which is being marketed and sold solely for that approved 
purpose. Nicotine delivery products include, but are not limited to, e-cigarettes.

Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) Machine: A mechanical device made available for use (including to 
an individual who produces cigars, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-your-own tobacco solely 
for the individual's own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making cigarettes, cigars or other 
tobacco products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely personal consumption are not Non-
Residential RYO machines.

Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly 
to consumers who applies for and receives a tobacco and nicotine delivery product sales permit or any person 
who is required to apply for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit pursuant to these 
regulations, or his or her business agent. 

Retail Tobacco Store: An establishment which is not required to possess a retail food permit whose primary 
purpose is to sell or offer for sale to consumers, but not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia, 
in which the sale of other products is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons under the age of 18 is 
prohibited at all times, and maintains a valid permit for the retail sale of tobacco products as required to be 
issued by the Athol Board of Health.

Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product or a nicotine delivery 
product without assistance from an employee or store personnel.

Tobacco Product: Cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, bidis, snuff or tobacco in any of its forms.

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or 
any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes, any other tobacco product or nicotine delivery 
product.

D. Tobacco   and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales to Minors   Prohibited  :

1. No person shall sell tobacco or nicotine delivery products or permit tobacco or nicotine delivery products to 
be sold to a minor; or not being the minor's parent or legal guardian, give tobacco or nicotine delivery products 
to a minor.

2. Required Signage 
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a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of 
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or 
other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail. The 
notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the 
Athol Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted conspicuously 
by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it may be readily 
seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly face the purchaser 
and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or greater than 9 feet from 
the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at 
retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the Massachusetts Department of Public 
Health.

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell nicotine delivery products at 
retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating “The sale of nicotine delivery products to minors under 18 
years of age is prohibited.” The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell e-
cigarettes at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating, “The use of e-cigarettes at indoor 
establishments will be prohibited by local law.” The notices shall be no smaller than 8.5” by 11” and 
shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that they 
may be readily seen by a person standing at, or approaching the cash register. These notices shall 
directly face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 or 
greater than 9 feet from the floor.

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco or nicotine delivery products shall verify the age of 
the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the bearer's date of 
birth that the purchaser is 18 years old or older. Verification is required for any person under the age of 27.

4. All retail sales of tobacco or nicotine delivery products must be face-to-face between the seller and the buyer 
and occur at the permitted location, except as provided in Section K.” 

E. Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit:  

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco or nicotine delivery products at retail establishments 
within the Town of Athol without first obtaining a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit issued 
annually by the Athol Board of Health. Only owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile 
location in Athol are eligible to apply for a permit and sell tobacco products or nicotine delivery products at the 
specified location in Athol.

2. As part of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be 
provided with the Athol Board of Health regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that 
the applicant has read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees 
who will be responsible for tobacco and nicotine delivery product sales regarding federal, state and local laws 
regarding the sale of tobacco and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco is required to provide proof of a current tobacco sales license issued by the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue before a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit can be 
issued.
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4. The fee for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be determined by the Athol Board of 
Health annually. 

5. A separate permit is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products.

6. Each Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be displayed at the retail establishment in a 
conspicuous place.

7. No Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit holder shall allow any employee to sell tobacco 
products or nicotine delivery products until such employee reads this regulation and federal and state laws 
regarding the sale of tobacco and signs a statement, a copy of which will be placed on file in the office of the 
employer, that he/she has read the regulation and applicable state and federal laws.

8. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment 
that sells tobacco or nicotine delivery products must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued 
unless and until all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.

9. Issuance of a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s 
consent to unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this 
regulation.

10. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to 
pay all fines issued and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or has not satisfied any outstanding 
permit suspensions.

 11. Maximum Number of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permits. 

(a) At any given time, there shall be no more than 20 Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permits 
issued in Athol. No permit renewal will be denied based on the requirements of this subsection except 
any permit holder who has failed to renew their permit within 30 days of expiration will be treated as a 
first-time permit applicant.  Applicants who purchase a business that holds a current Tobacco and 
Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit at the time of the sale of said business may apply, within sixty 
(60) days of such sale, for the permit held by the Seller if the Buyer intends to sell tobacco products 
and/or nicotine delivery products.  New applicants for permits who are applying at a time when the 
maximum number of permits have been issued will be placed on a waiting list and will be eligible to 
apply for a permit on a “first-come, first-serve” basis as issued permits are either not renewed or are 
returned to the Board of Health. 

(b)  As of January 1, 2014, any permit not renewed either because a retailer no longer sells tobacco and/or 
nicotine delivery products, or because a retailer closes the retail business, shall be returned to the Athol 
Board of Health and shall be permanently retired by the Board of Health. 

12. The use of the e-cigarette  in the Town of Athol is prohibited anywhere the M.G.L. c. 270, s. 22 applies.

 F. Cigar Sales Regulated:

1. No retailer, retail establishment, or other individual or entity shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or 
distributed a cigar unless the cigar is contained in an original package of at least four (4) cigars. 
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2. This Section shall not apply to:

a. The sale or distribution of any cigar having a retail price of two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) or more.
b. A person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for commercial purposes to 

another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for commercial 
purposes with the intent to sell or distribute outside the boundaries of Athol.

c. Retail Tobacco Stores.

3. The Athol Board of Health may adjust from time to time the amounts specified in this Section to reflect 
changes in the applicable Consumer Price Index by amendment of this regulation.

G. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps:

No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Athol.  

H. Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption:

No person shall distribute, or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products or nicotine delivery 
products.  No means, instruments or devices that allow for the redemption of all tobacco products or nicotine 
delivery products for free or cigarettes at a price below the minimum retail price determined by the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue shall be accepted by any permit holder.

I. Out-of-Package Sales:

No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed, any cigarette package that 
contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes.

J. Self-Service Displays:

All self-service displays of tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products are prohibited. All humidors 
including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked.

K. Vending Machines

 All tobacco and/or nicotine delivery product vending machines are prohibited, unless vending machines that are 
permissible pursuant to U.S. FDA and Massachusetts Attorney General regulations are machines equipped with 
lock-out devices, located in facilities that ensure that no person younger than eighteen (18) years is present, or 
permitted to enter at any time, and that hold valid pouring liquor licenses. A lockout device locks out sales from 
the vending machine unless a release mechanism is triggered by an employee. The release mechanism must not 
allow continuous operation of the vending machine and must be out of the reach of all consumers and in a 
location accessible only to employees.

L.  Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines:
All Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited.

M. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products by Health Care Institutions:
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No health care institution located in Athol shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco or nicotine delivery products. 
No retail establishment that operates or has a health care institution within it, such as a pharmacy or drug store, 
shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products or nicotine delivery products.

N. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products by Educational Institutions:

No educational institution located in Athol shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco or nicotine delivery products. 
This includes all educational institutions as well as any retail establishments that operate on the property of an 
educational institution.

O. Violations: 

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure 
compliance with all sections of this regulation pertaining to his or her distribution of tobacco and/or nicotine 
delivery products. The violator of Section D.1 shall receive:

a. In the case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine 
Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for three (3) consecutive business days.

b. In the case of a second violation within 36 months of the date of the current violation, a fine of two 
hundred dollars ($200.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be 
suspended for seven (7) consecutive business days.

c. In the case of three or more violations within a 36 month period, a fine of three hundred dollars 
($300.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty (30) 
consecutive business days.

2. Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the Tobacco 
and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days. 

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of 
tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly to a consumer while his or her permit is suspended shall be 
subject to the suspension of all Board of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days. 

4. The Athol Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery 
Product Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefore and establish a time and date for a 
hearing which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder or its 
business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of 
Health's decision and the reasons therefore in writing. After a hearing, the Athol Board of Health shall suspend 
the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this 
regulation occurred.  For purposes of such suspensions, the Board shall make the determination notwithstanding 
any separate criminal or non-criminal proceedings brought in court hereunder or under the Massachusetts 
General Laws for the same offense. All tobacco products and nicotine delivery products shall be removed from 
the retail establishment upon suspension of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit. Failure to 
remove all tobacco and nicotine delivery products shall constitute a separate violation of this regulation. 

P. Non-Criminal Disposition:
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Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition 
as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D or by filing a criminal complaint at the 
appropriate venue.

Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.

Q. Enforcement:

Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Athol Board of Health or its designated agent(s).

Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the Athol 
Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate.

R. Severability:

If any provision of these regulations is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be 
affected thereby but shall continue in full force and effect.

S. Effective Date:

This regulations was passed on June 18, 2013 and shall take effect on October 1, 2013.

_______________________________________ Joan E. Hamlett, Chair

_______________________________________ Earle Baldwin, Vice-Chair

_______________________________________ Norma Purple

, Member
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